Hans-Jürgen Butt

Born 26 February 1961 in Hamburg, Germany Married, three children

1980 - 1986	Diploma in physics after studies at the Universities Hamburg and Göttingen
26.8.1986	Diploma thesis with Prof. Dr. H. Spitzer, German Electron-Synchrotron, Hamburg: Electron identification by means of transition radiation
1986 – 1989	Group of Prof. Dr. E. Bamberg, Max Planck Institute of Biophysics, Frankfurt
1989	Ph.D., Time-resolved measurement of proton translocation by Bacteriorhodopsin
1989 – 1990	Postdoc, Group of Prof. Dr. P.K. Hansma, University of California, Santa Barbara: <i>Atomic force microscopy</i>
1990 – 1996	Group of Prof. Dr. E. Bamberg, Max Planck Institute of Biophysics, Frankfurt
1995	Habilitation in Biophysical Chemistry at the University Frankfurt Atomic force microscopy of biological objects
1996 – 2000	C3 (Associate)-Professor Institute of Physical Chemistry at the University Mainz: Physical chemistry of interfaces
2000 – 2002	C4 (Full)-Professor of Physical Chemistry at the University of Siegen Physical chemistry of interfaces Vice Dean of the Faculty of Chemistry and Biology from 6/2001-6/2002
2002	Director at the Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research Experimental physics of interfaces

Appointments

Since 2003	Außerplanmäßiger Professor at the University of Siegen
Since 2004	Honory Professor at the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz
2004-2011	Chair of the Advisory board of the G.M.J. Schmidt Minerva Center on Supramolecular Architectures
2004-2012	Member of the advisory board of the Institut für Mikrotechnik Mainz
2006-2008	Managing director of MPI for Polymer Research
2007-2008	Member Fachkollegium German Research Society (DFG) for physical chemistry of molecules, liquids, interfaces, theoretical chemistry
2007-2011	Member of the steering committee of the graduate school of Excellence "Materials Science in Mainz"
2007-2014	Member of the steering committee of the center of Excellence "Smart Interfaces" in Darmstadt
2007-2011	Chair of the German Colloid Society (Kolloid-Gesellschaft)

2008-2014	Spokesperson of the International Max Planck Research School for Polymer Materials
Since 2009	Council member of the International Association of Colloid and Interface Scientists (IACIS)
Since 2009	Honory Professor at the Technical University Darmstadt
2010-2016	Treasurer of the European Colloid and Interface Society (ECIS)
2011-2020	Member Editorial Board Royal Society of Chemistry for Soft Matter Series of books
2014-2018	Section Editor of Current Opinion in Colloid and Interface Science
2015-2018	Advisor for Research at Tokyo Tech University
2016-2020	Member <i>Fachkollegium</i> of the German Research Society (DFG) for Polymer Research
Since 2016	Senior member of the Gutenberg Akademie of the University of Mainz
Since 2016	Ombudsperson of the CPTS Section of the Max Planck Society
Since 2016	Board member Collaborative Research Center 1194 "Interaction between transport and wetting processes"
2017-2019	Member of Editorial Advisory Board of Langmuir
2018-2022	President of the International Association of Colloid and Interface Scientists (IACIS)
Since 2018	Visiting professor at Tokyo Institute of Technology
Since 2020	Board member Priority Program 2171 "Dynamic wetting of flexible, adaptive and switchable surfaces"
2019	Member evaluation panel ERC Consolidator Grants
2020-2022	Managing director of MPI for Polymer Research
2022	Member evaluation panel ERC Advanced Grants

Prices and Honors

1996	Heisenberg fellowship
2008	Tewkesbury Lecture in Melbourne, Australia
2008	ICI distinguished Lecturer, University of Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2011	Lectureship Award, Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry, The Chemical Society of Japan
2013	ERC Advanced Grant "Superamphiphobic Surfaces for Chemical Processing"
2018	Distinguished Lecture at City University Hongkong
2019	Distinguished Lecture at Waterloo Inst. Nanotechnology
2021	ERC Advanced Grant "Dynamic charging at moving contact lines"

2021	Ostwald Prize of the <i>Kolloid-Gesellschaft</i> for lifelong achievement in colloid & interface science
2022	Honorary Doctoral Degree of the Physics Department University of Ioannina
2022	Overbeek Prize of the European Colloid and Interface Society for lifelong achievement