Awards and Prizes for MPI-P Scientists

Scientists at the MPI for Polymer Research are regularly awarded prizes for their research work, publications or posters. Here you will find an overview of prizes and awards

Dr. Jenée Cyran

Jenée Cyran, a MaxWater Postdoc in the department of Prof. Mischa Bonn, received the prestigious Young Investigator Award of the American Chemical Society (ACS). The prize is awarded once a year by the Physical Chemistry Division of the ACS. Jenée Cyran is working on the observation of how different trace gaces interact with ice. On the basis of the prize she was awarded, she presented her work at the Fall meeting of the ACS in San Diego

Dr. Johanna Simon

Johanna Simon received the renowned Otto Hahn Award of the Max Planck Society for her dissertation on "Proteomic characterization of the biomolecular corona and its impact on targeted drug delivery via nanocarriers". The prize includes a scientific stay abroad of up to two years. Afterwards, she will be able to set up her own research group at a Max Planck Institute of her choice.  The Otto Hahn Award is granted annually to a maximum of four young scientists for outstanding achievements in their dissertations. It is intended to pave the way for a long-term scientific career.

Priv.-Doz. Dr. Frederik Wurm

Priv.-Doz. Dr. Frederik Wurm is the recipient of the Polymer Chemistry Lectureship Award 2019. “Polymer Chemistry” selected Dr. Frederik Wurm for this year’s “Polymer Chemistry Lectureship”, which was awarded during the European Polymer Federation conference on June 13th 2019 in Crete (Greece).

Photo: left to right: Neil Hammond (Executive Editor, Polymer Chemistry), Frederik Wurm, Filip du Prez (Associate Editor Polymer Chemistry)

Prof. Dr. Mischa Bonn

Prof. Mischa Bonn, Director of the Department of Molecular Spectroscopy at the Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, has been awarded the prestigious van't Hoff Prize of the German Bunsen Society on May 30, The prize is endowed with 20,000 euros and is awarded every three years to outstanding researchers in physical chemistry.

Priv.-Doz. Dr. Frederik Wurm

The European Polymer Journal selected Dr. Frederik Wurm for the first EPJ Award, which was awarded during the Sixth International Symposium Frontiers in Polymer Science conference on May 6th2019 in Budapest. The EPJ committeechose Dr. Wurm’s research from several scientific publications submitted to European Polymer Journal in 2018. Dr. Wurm’s paper was selected as the first prize winner.

Niklas Huber

Niklas Huber was elected to the Gutenberg Academy on April 29, 2019. The Gutenberg Academy is an institution of the Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz founded in 2006 and offers up to 25 doctoral students an intensive and regular exchange with outstanding scientists. (Image: Stefan Sämmer)

Prof. Dr. Klaus Müllen

On April 8, 2019 Prof. Klaus Müllen was awarded an honorary doctorate of the Department of Chemistry at the University of Patras

Qiang Chen

Our PhD student, Qiang Chen, has just received “Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Self-financed Students Abroad”. The award was established by the China Scholarship Council in 2003. The worldwide recipients are chosen annually based on a record of outstanding accomplishments in any discipline.
Go to Editor View