Awards and Lectureships


1984 Otto Bayer Price
1989 Philip Morris Technology Price
1990 Hermann Staudinger Medal of the German Chemical Society
1995 Society of Plastics Engineers
  Award for outstanding Achievement in Plastics Research
1998 ACS Award in Polymer Chemistry
1998 Conference Victor Grignard de la Société Française de Chimie
1998 Award of the Society of Polymer Science Japan
2003 FEMs – European Materials Medal
2003 Federal Cross of Merit (Bundesverdienstkreuz) Germany
2004 H.F. Mark-Medal, Österreichisches Forschungsinstitut Wien
2004 Marin-Drinov Medal of Bulgarian Academy of Science
2008 Medal of Merit awarded by the Federal State of Rhineland Palatinate

Lectureships (selected)

1979 University of Massachusetts, Amherst, Mass., USA
1986 University of Arizona, Tucson, Az., USA, (Marvel-Monsanto lectureship)
1987 University of Milan, Milan, Italy
1988 University of Leuven, Leuven, Belgium (Smets lectureship)
1990 University of Connecticut, Storrs, USA
1991 University of Helsinki, Helsinki, Finland
1992 University of Pisa, Pisa, Italy
1992 University of Montreal, Montreal, Canada
1994 Baker Lectureship, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, USA
1995 University of Akron, Ohio, USA
1997 Rolf Sammet Lectureship, University of Frankfurt, Germany
1997 Xerox-Lectureship, Halifax, Canada
1997 Butler-Lectureship, University of Florida, Gainesville, Fla
2005 Solomon Lectures, Brisbane, Adelaide, Sidney, Melbourne, Australia

Honorary degrees

2000 Doctor in humane letters, University of Massachusetts, Lowell
2004 Honorary Doctorate of Engineering Science, University of Erlangen- Nuremberg, Germany
2004 Honorary Member Society of Polymer Science, Japan
2004 Honorary Professorship Nankai University, China
2004 Honorary Member A.V. Topchiev Institute of Petro-chemical Synthesis, Russian Academy of Science
2005 Doctor honoris causa, Technical University of Lodz, Poland
2007 Honorary Doctorate University of Patras, Greece
2011 Honorary Doctorate ETH, Zurich/Switzerland
2014 Honorary member, Chinese Chemical Society,
2014 Honorary Professor ICCAS, Beijing

Memberships (selected)

Board of the German Chemical Society (GDCh) (1996-2002)
Board of DECHEMA, Frankfurt/M./Germany
Academia Europaea
Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften
Nordrhein-Westfälische Akademie der Wissenschaften
Koninklijke Nederlandse Akademie van Wetenschappen
Commission for Scientific Integrity of the Austrian Science, Vienna (2008 – present)

Go to Editor View